I was thinking…

10 Oct

The age I am now, my friends and some relatives, I grew up with have children that are now young adults. And, some with teenage children. Is it me or a lot of these teenagers/young adults are spoiled out of there mind. 

 

We have worked so hard to become successful people and in my case nothing was given to me. I have worked for every last thing, but it’s hard to explain to your friends to instruct their kids to work like we do and not just give them everything. 

 

My god son Nicholas,16, asked me for a $250 iPod well I told Nicholas he can come to Darnell’s a couple hours before opening to clean tables, wash windows, mop the floors, 10 hrs a week at minimum wage. Well of course I could have just purchased the iPod for $250, but I thought about it. I work so hard and $250 don’t come easy. So to teach him the value of money, and work ethic he can calculate how many hours he would need to work to get what he wants. 

 

I said all of that to say let’s teach our children, Work Ethic. And the value of a dollar. I also encourage you not to give young people everything they ask for, even if you meet them half way. Make them earn it.

 

Darnell

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

