19 Dec

Do you remember your mom & dad telling you to stay out of the streets…. Tryin there best to shield and protect you…

 

I remember all of the fun we had in the streets, drinking, smoking, partying, hanging out, whereever and with whomever… Growing up in DC at that time was considered the murder capital of the world & it was also the beginning of the crack epidemic. Which I’ve seen with my own eyes destroy families no matter what there economic status was.

I also remember hanging out @ the black hole, which is now a dentist office on Georgia Ave, the Ibex, which is now a condo building, the Mirage in SW, now the grounds of the new baseball stadium, luxury apartments, and upscale offices…
I also remember getting my Nissan Sentra washed at Sparkels car wash, which sat directly across the street from Darnell’s bar, where all the drunks & addicts hung out all hours of the day and night. I remember first street where my Auntie Joann Perkins PH.D started a community center where I taught piano to young neighborhood kids who were poor, volunteer during Thanksgiving feeding the hungry, and on Christmas day at the shelter on 2nd & D singing Christmas carols while giving out toys with the late Mitch Snyder.

 

What great memories!!

 

I have lived in every section of Washington DC & its a beautiful city. So to my parents who told me to stay out of those streets,  well you were probably right, but how do we know whats good unless we experience bad.

 

Being a native Washingtonian where, my family, home, & business resides… Thanks for embracing me the way I embrace my city… The nations capital, Washington, DC.

 

Darnell

Leave a Reply

